Tiffany & Tot

Tips and Tricks related to cloth diapering and kids clothes, from an Atlantic Canadian perspective

Northern Rose Fabric preorder

Northern Rose Fabrics Review – (Short version, it’s amazing!)

Leave a comment

Northern Rose Fabrics Under the Sea strikeoff

Northern Rose Fabrics is a new Canadian small business offering custom prints on 95% cotton 5% lycra fabric. Owned and run by Samantha Gowanlock in Alberta, she’s currently running a pre-order of 10 gorgeous prints. Pre-order specifics and the nitty gritty will be at the end, but her prints are fantastic – you’ve been warned. Almost as soon as I posted her pre-order options to my facebook page I had an order for multiple items using her prints! She also has a monthly giveaway in her Facebook group, so make sure to check it out, and the current giveaway information is below with the preorder details.

Northern Rose FabricsI was selected to be a strikeoff seamstress for her, meaning I got to test out some of her fabric. The short version is that it’s amazing! No word of a lie, when I first showed it to my son, his eyes got really big, he gasped and excitedly exclaimed “Oooooh! THIS fabric!!!! Here’s what I’ve noticed with the strikeoff I sewed up, “Under the Sea”:

  • really soft to the touch
  • great colours, as vibrant as the pictures appear on my screen
  • no fading after a prewash with detergent (I cut off a sample to compare)Northern Rose Fabrics Strikeoff
  • the colours in the “Under the Sea” print didn’t seem to run at all – I tossed a white sock in the washer with it and the sock didn’t change colour even slightly
  • sewed up nicely

I’m honestly really happy with the fabric quality, and I can’t wait to buy more!

Preorder Details

Northern Rose Fabric preorder

The current pre-order closes on May 21st, so make sure your orders are in before then. Pre-order price is $25.50CAD and retail price will be $29.50CAD, invoiced in Canadian dollars and cut by the metre. The fabric has 4 way stretch, is digitally printed, is approximately 59″ wide and is a nice medium weight at 250gsm. There is a layaway option, shipping within Canada is a flat rate of $15CAD, and prices for shipping elsewhere are available on her Facebook page. Finally, everyone who preorders will be automatically entered for a giveaway bundle of 5 free fat halves!! What’s not to love??

Update May 12, 2017 – I’ve now washed one of the items I made at least 10 times. I’m happy to report it still looks great!!!

Leave a Reply

